What is the age of consent in Texas?

According to the state laws, the age of consent in Texas is 17-years-old. Minors below this age are unable to provide consent for sexual contact or activities. There are exceptions made for those within three years of age of the alleged victim, who have not threatened or put the alleged victim under duress, or are not registered as sex offenders. However, any sexual contact that occurs with a minor 14-years-old or younger could cause a defendant to automatically be charged with aggravated sexual assault.

If you’re facing statutory rape charges, you may want to carefully consider finding a reliable legal defender to help you prepare a solid defense. For more information regarding our services and how we may be able to assist you, contact the Dallas statutory rape lawyers of the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter today by calling (214) 845-7007.


Confidential Free Case Evaluation