Marijuana Sales and Distribution in Texas
Law enforcement officials in Texas take drug crimes very seriously, including those related to marijuana, or pot. If you are caught selling or otherwise distributing marijuana, you can be left with penalties ranging from a class B misdemeanor to a first degree felony. These penalties may be enhanced if you are selling in a certain location or if you have been caught in the past.
No matter the level of your crime, it is important to discuss your case with a Dallas criminal attorney who can help you defend your rights during this trying time. If you have been charged with marijuana sale or distribution, contact a Dallas drug crime attorney from the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter today at (214) 845-7007.
Penalties for Selling Marijuana
In general, the extent of your penalties for selling marijuana depends on the amount that you are attempting to distribute. These penalties include:
- Gift of .25 ounces or less – $2,000 fine and 180 days incarceration
- Sale of .25 ounces or less – $4,000 fine and a year in jail
- .25 ounces to 5 pounds – $10,000 fine and 180 days to 2 years jail time
- 5-50 pounds – $10,000 fine and 2-20 years in prison
- 50-2,000 pounds – $10,000 fine and 5-99 years in jail
- 2,000+ pounds – mandatory minimum sentence of 10-99 years in prison and a $100,000 fine
Additionally, if you sell to a minor, you can face a felony with 2-20 years of incarceration and a $10,000 fine. If you sell within 1,000 feet of a school or within 300 feet of a public pool hall, arcade, or youth center, you can receive charges that are enhanced up to one level.
Drug-related offenses, including selling marijuana, can have serious repercussions on your legal record—and your future. Sometimes, a Dallas criminal lawyer may be able to have your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact a knowledgeable Dallas drug defense lawyer from the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter at (214) 845-7007 today to discuss your case.